Bhaktapur Durbar Square


Bhaktapur Durbar Square is the plaza in front of the royal palace of the old Bhaktapur Kingdom, 1400m above sea level. It is one of three Durbar Squares in the Kathmandu Valley in Nepal, all of which are UNESCO World Heritage Sites.

While the complex consists of at least four distinct squares (Durbar Square, Taumadhi Square, Dattatreya Square and Pottery Square), the whole area is informally known as the Bhakapur Durbar Square and is a highly visited site in the Kathmandu Valley.

Trivia & Quick Points:

  • Also called Bhadgaon and Khwopa (in the native tongue).
  • Religions: Hindu 92%, Buddhist 7%
  • Castes: Newar 63%, Brahman 10%, Chettri 18%, Tamang 5%
  • Bhaktapur’s population is approximately 225,000.
  • Bhaktapur depends on tourism for about 60% of its revenues.
  • No cars are allowed in Durbar Square; no heavy vehicles in central Bhaktapur

Bhaktapur Durbar Square Bhaktapur Durbar Square

Bhaktapur literally means the city of devotees known as the…

View original post 642 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s