My First Solo Adventure: Travelling & Volunteering in Nepal

Little Wanderlust Stories

“Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.”  ~Leo Buscaglia

I boarded the small Jet-like aircraft at Delhi, the next stop was Kathmandu, the Capital of Nepal. A small country Sandwiched between India and China, gateway to Mount Everest and a destination I knew almost nothing about, yet chose this to be my home for the next six weeks.

It was clear almost immediately as I got to the gate that this was not ‘tourist season’. Taller than most – although, I wouldn’t say 5’5″ was tall – blonder, well, just being blonde, paler than pale and carrying a rucksack. Yep, I stuck out. People would stare, which didn’t bother me too much. The women would come up and chat to me…

View original post 2,247 more words

Leave a Reply

