Where will the money go?

The Country that Shook

Screen Shot 2015-08-04 at 13.32.43
I
‘ve been asked this very valid question a few times recently and now that the shop is open and the products are selling I feel that it’s something I can focus on.

Currently I am not working directly with any specific charity in Nepal. What I learnt while I was there is that an inexplicable amount of charity money is siphoned off by the government, so I am wary to just hand over vast sums to anybody via the internet.

My plan is to return to Nepal myself next year and distribute the money raised by buying things that people are in need of, or financially supporting projects.

In particular I’d like to focus on the huge mental health trauma that the earthquake has created. This article from back in May really highlights the huge problem. http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2015/may/15/nepal-earthquake-mental-health-disaster

I am in a position now, with the project making money, where I can start…

View original post 51 more words

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

